Church Organisation, Structure, Governance and Management

Governance of the Church

We are a democratic organisation - ultimate authority and responsibility belongs to the members of the church. Our devotion to democracy is not merely a matter of method, but our profound belief in the way people should relate together. All human beings are worthy of participation in the affairs of human society and should be encouraged to accept its opportunities and disciplines.

Annual General meeting

The highest decision-making body of the Church is the Annual General Meeting normally held in September. Between AGM's the Church is governed by a Committee of Management which is elected by and from the membership at the AGM.

Committee of Management

The CoM consists of four officers of the Church being Chairperson, Deputy Chairperson, Secretary, Treasurer and five other Members.

Committees, Boards and Sub-committees of the CoM

The Committee of Management or a General Meeting may create advisory Committees Boards or Sub-committees to assist in the governance or management of the Church. The current sub-committees are the Finance Sub-committee, the Maintenance Sub-committee, the IT & Audio-Visual Sub-committee and the Social Justice Action Group. All Sub-committees report to the CoM and subsequently, the AGM. The Editorial Committee (the "Beacon Board") is responsible for the collation and presentation of articles in the monthly Church journal, 'Beacon". The Editorial Committee members are elected by the Annual General Meeting of members held each year.

Membership Information & Communication

Postal and electronic Newsletters and half-yearly general meetings of the congregation provide information to members and opportunities to share ideas.

Regular Services

Services are conducted each Sunday from 11.00 am to 12.30 pm followed by a light lunch.  Services feature guest speakers addressing the congregation on a wide variety of topics.